Submission Guidelines

Eligible Books:

The submitted book must be the author’s first published novel for
adult readers, published in the United States between January 1,
2016 and June 1, 2017. Regardless of the author’s residence, the
book must be set predominantly in the American South, which
includes the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia,
Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina,
Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West
Virginia, and the District of Columbia.

Books may be self-published if they have an ISBN number.
However, self-published books must be available through one of
the major distributors, Baker & Taylor or Ingram, under regular reseller
terms. Self-published authors can arrange for such
distribution for a small fee.

Books that are available only as e-books are not eligible.

Submissions are welcome from authors or publishers.


The online entry form (as well as online payment of the entry fee,
unless paying by check) must be submitted on or before the June
1 deadline.

How to apply:

1) Click on “Pay Now” to pay the $35 entry fee online. If paying by
check, see below.

2) Fill out the online submission form and click “Submit Form.” If
paying by check, be sure to so indicate on the form.

3) Mail two copies of the submitted book, a printed submission
form, and proof of online payment or a check for $35 to:

Crook’s Corner Book Prize
313 Country Club Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Submissions must be postmarked on or before the June 1

There will be no refunds or return of books, regardless of eligibility
or ineligibility.

For more information, go to or